50 Experiences of Racially Mixed people

I found 50 Experiences of Racially Mixed people (PDF) interesting. That Americans consider race to be a singular identity makes sense. Claiming to be biracial or multiracial makes no sense in that paradigm.

The experiences listed were very familiar.

Number 28, “You have been mistaken for another person of mixed heritage who does not resemble you,” brought to mind a road trip to Arkansas. We had stopped in Mississippi at a Wendy’s for lunch. This guy stared at me for a quarter of an hour. Eventually he approached our table and stopped short with a look of shock. He told me, “Sorry. You looked like my friend from New York. I was going to ask why you were here.”

Then there was the coworker who decided I have a baby mama in the nearby large city since she saw someone who looked like me in a car I do not have on a road I had to Google to figure out where it was.

I stopped eating at Blimpie because an employee insisted I was a guy who worked for Saft, a company who manufactures batteries. She disbelieved I was not him.

Then there was a kid a grade ahead of me in elementary school. Teachers who had him would get upset when I did not respond to his name.

Don’t think I can blog about number 42, but holy ****, yes!

from Rants, Raves, and Rhetoric v4Rants, Raves, and Rhetoric v4 »

Leave a Reply

