Great Wave

The Great Wave off KanagawaI think I first saw The Great Wave of Kanagawa at a museum in New York in 1992, which I guess would have been the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Wikipedia says a copy resides there. At the time I was disappointed in there not being more Sesshū Tōyō. (I have a nominal connection to Sesshū.) And I recall the Great Wave being the only Japanese painting I recognized.

Interesting, though, that I have been to the British Museum who has a copy, but I did not get to see it there.

Hokusai is a wonderful painter. The dark blue of the water is my favorite. And the foam reminds me of hands reaching out to drown the fishermen.

from Rants, Raves, and Rhetoric v4Rants, Raves, and Rhetoric v4 »

Leave a Reply

