Misprint

My Crack

A Feast for Crows when first published

Last year I bought a paperback set of A Song of Ice and Fire. Yes, I own the four books in the set. (The fifth was published in hardback at the same time.) Rather than continue messing up my hardbacks from multiple reads, I thought paperbacks would be better. Well, I finally got around to reading them and noticed a big misprint. Pages 565 and 566 in A Feast for Crows were actually 575 and 576. It was not a great part of the story.

But it nagged at me so much that it was all I wanted to mention when asked by Goodreads about a review when I marked it as read. A friend commented on it. I wondered if someone had posted the page online. Just searching on “Feast for Crows 565″ led me to lots of reviews complaining about it. I found the missing pages in Google Books. Someone suggested contacting the publisher.

So I decided to try. Bantamdell.com printed on the book goes to randomhouse.com. There I found an FAQ entry suggesting for typographical errors, I contact customer service. So I sent a quick email to the address with the ISBN and title as requested. I just wanted the page. The response was they do not send a copy of the page, but if they have extra copies, then they would send me a whole free book. I just needed to send the printing run. I did.

Today I got the replacement copy. It has the correct pages at 565. Thank you Random House!

It has a very different print run number. Will have to dig at some point and try to figure out how companies come up with the print run number.

 

from Rants, Raves, and Rhetoric v4

Leave a Reply

